Jail Bait - a poem for mothers by C.E.K Nelson, Illustration by author

This poem was written by me, months after the birth of my second child, at the ripe age of 40. Having to relinquish a business that I had built out of nothing to the wind was a difficult decision. My ID was lost, I mourned, but a sacrifice I gladly made- or could not stop myself from making as my maternal instincts over powered the desire to satisfy my ego…. I had to let go! Women today have to make difficult choices when it comes to family and career…. Many have no choice as a dual income household has helped to create inflated living expenses and or the mother’s income is the only means of survival.

Cheers to all mother’s and their devotion to their children, our future!

Illustration: I created this illustration in adobe Illustrator years before my first child was born- this is a self portrait.

The title: jail Bait refers to our desire to  fulfill our maternal instincts but with this desire, there is a personal and professional price to be paid.

C.E.K. Nelson

Cheryl elich krumpelt- Nelson

2 thoughts on “Jail Bait – a poem for mothers by C.E.K Nelson, Illustration by author

  1. Pingback: Jail Bait – a poem for mothers by C.E.K Nelson, Illustration by author | c.elich krumpelt nelson (c.e.k. Nelson)

Leave a Reply

